Step through the doors and back through time. The New Canaan Historical Society is a place where people of all ages are invited to see, explore, and begin to understand a fascinating era in the history of Connecticut and America. Five vintage buildings are home to seven museums and a library. Within the walls, volunteers and staff have preserved one of the most important collections of "relics and curiosities" in the Northeast. Buildings include: Town House, 1845 pharmacy, Hanford-Silliman House (c.1764), Rock Schoolhouse (1799), John Rogers Sculpture Studio (1878), Tool Museum and Print Shop. The New Canaan Historical Society was founded in 1889. In the preamble of the 1889 Constitution, we state the Society’s mission: "to bring together and arrange the historical events of the town of New Canaan, the genealogies of the families who have lived in the town, to form a library and collect relics and curiosities, to form a museum.” Changing exhibits are presented in the Town House throughout the year.