Hartford Symphony Orchestra: Beethoven's Ninth

June 5 - 7

Glass Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 “Choral”

Carolyn Kuan, conductor
Resurgam Quartet, saxophone quartet
Harrison Kliewe, soprano saxophone
Colette Hall, alto saxophone
Sean Tanguay, tenor saxophone
Michael Raposo, baritone saxophone
Hartford Chorale Richard Coffey, music director
Vocal soloists

Jamilyn Manning-White, soprano

Jordan Weatherston Pitts, tenor

Brian James Myer, baritone

We conclude the 2019-2020 season with a true “Ode to Joy” – Beethoven’s towering, magnificent Symphony No. 9. The completion of his final and greatest symphony coincided with his total hearing loss, so that by the premiere, a concert soloist had to turn him around at the podium so he could witness the audience’s thunderous applause and ovations. Philip Glass’ jazzy and soulful Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra will be performed by the engaging Hartford-based Resurgam Quartet.






The Bushnell
166 Capitol Ave.
Hartford, CT 06106
United States




(860) 987-5900

How to Get There