Virtual: Masterworks In-Depth with Carolyn Kuan

January 15 - 20

Revive your spirit with the Hartford Symphony Orchestra! Join the Hartford Symphony Orchestra for the fourth program in a new free, monthly series, Masterworks In-Depth with Carolyn Kuan, a deep dive into the classical works originally programmed for the 2020-2021 HSO Masterworks season.

HSO Music Director Carolyn Kuan will host this online conversation, which will focus on composer Florence Price, including her Concerto in One Movement for Piano. Florence Prince is the first noted African American female composer to gain national status.

Guests include conductor Jeri Lynn Johnson, who was to have led the January Masterworks performances, and pianist Michelle Cann, who was to join the HSO as a guest artist to perform Price’s Concerto in One Movement for Piano. Visit to view the conversation any time between 8 p.m. on January 15 and 5 p.m. on January 20.


Hartford, CT 06103
United States



How to Get There