Alternate Text

Henry Whitfield State Museum

Explore the complex history of nearly four centuries through the evolution of the 1639 Whitfield House. The museum is in the process of... Read More

Explore the complex history of nearly four centuries through the evolution of the 1639 Whitfield House. The museum is in the process of changing its interpretation – confronting the facts about the site’s history to acknowledge past injustice, recognize how that injustice manifests in society today, and work towards an equitable future for all people.

Construction of the Henry Whitfield House began in 1639 when a group of English Puritans, including Reverend Henry Whitfield and his family, entered into an agreement with the Menuncatuck band of the Quinnipiac tribe. Built of local granite, the house was one of the colonial settlement’s four stone houses that functioned as defensive buildings and private homes. It is now considered to be Connecticut’s oldest house and New England’s oldest stone house. Since 1900, it has been owned and operated by the State of Connecticut as a public museum, and the site is a State Archaeological Preserve. The house underwent many structural changes over the course of its nearly 400 years. Restored by noted architects Norman Isham and J. Frederick Kelly in the early 1900s, it is an important example of Colonial Revival restoration work and was named a National Historic Landmark based on these historic preservation projects. The Henry Whitfield House is a physical reminder of the European settler colonialism of the 1600s, as well as the Colonial Revival era of the 1800s-1900s that celebrated and glorified European ethnocentricity and superiority.

The museum buildings will re-open in June for the 2021 season. Socially-distanced, hourly tours will be available 10:00-3:00, Friday-Sunday by registration. Stay tuned for more information coming soon. Visit the museum's website and social media for information on our current outdoor and online experiences and for re-opening updates.

 

Pricing: Free for children 12 and younger, $5 for seniors, and $6 for everyone else.

Other Amenities: Gift Shop, Indoor Activity, Store, Toilets, Hiking Trails

Less

Location:

248 Old Whitfield St.
Guilford, CT 06437

Hours:

GROUNDS OPEN, BUILDINGS RE-OPEN IN JUNE -- explore the site’s history through interpretive signs with photos and links to online material, pick up a scavenger hunt at the parking lot kiosk and submit your answers for a chance to win a prize, pick up the "I Spy" Bingo activity sheet at the parking lot kiosk and find 5 in a row, and decipher the rebus puzzles in the Visitor Center windows

While You're in the Neighborhood